Swapneel Shah

swapsshah in dreams!!!

The deserted Airport Road…

with 3 comments


No I am not talking about the traffic… It’s still there… and even more, and growing… 😦 Even after the Airport has shifted from Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL) Airport to become the Bengaluru International Airport (BIA) at devanahalli

Here am talking about the anxious eyes that used to jump over the Airport wall to take a glimpse of the planes on the runway… I have seen people getting up from their seats when the Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation (BMTC) bus ran parallel to the Airport wall… Have seen people every morning on this small bridge that gave a clear view of the runway and planes… Seen people sitting on trees adjoining the Airport wall waiting for the planes to take off and land… Even after the authorities covered the entire tree-trunks with sharp wires to prevent people climbing up the trees, people still found ways to reach the top… It became a routine for me to watch people doing this… Everyday… As I traveled to office from Marathahalli, I wondered why people were so curious to see these planes??? What’s so interesting in them???

I realized this even more when my mother visited me a few months back, just a week before the Airport shifted… She used to get very excited whenever she used to hear a plane go above… And look up here and there to find the plane… The joy when she could locate one was just great!!! She used to go to the terrace every evening to watch the planes fly overhead and see the plane getting larger in size as they descended to land…

“Kiti motha disate ahe plane??? itka jawal… khidakya suddha disatayet…” (The plane looks so huge… So close… I can even see the windows…)

Another incident that I can relate to is the chat with a cab driver travelling to office… Though I am seldom able to crack any communication with these drivers; who mostly speak kannada or some other magic South Indian language, this time I succeeded!!! No kudos to me, actually he could speak Hindi… After some usual talking here n there, (mostly me asking and he answering); as we neared the turn on the small bridge adjoining the Airport wall…

“Sahab, woh uss din subah aap bahar muluk se aaye the na… Main aapko leneko aaya tha Airport…” (Sir, the other morning you had come from outside country… I had come to receive you at the airport…)

“Haan, haan…” (Yes, yes…) [Honestly, I didn’t recollect him at all… I guess Jet Lag was the one to blame…]

“Ek baat poocho???” (Can I ask you one question???)

“Are haan, poocho…” (Yes, go ahead…)

[After a small pause, and somewhat hesitant…]
“Woh plane mein aadmi log khada rehke ja sakata hai kya??? Itna chota hota hai… Zhukake jaana padata hoyega na???” (Can people stand straight in the plane??? It is so small… One would have to stay bent inside it… right???)

[… …. … Startled with this completely unexpected question…]

“Nahin, nahin… usme aaram se baithkar, sokar bhi ja sakate hai…” (No, no… U can sit and even sleep comfortably inside it…)

[Silly me!!! He was asking me about standing, and I answered him about sitting and sleeping… But I guess, he was good enough to understand my vague answer…]

These incidents make me realize that somewhere, once upon a time I was in the same chappals shoes… Actually slippers… or today I am still in the same place, as usual traveling to Pune by Indian Railways… all thanks to the rocketing Air fares I cannot even think of a standing travel in a plane!!!

Swapneel*

PS: This is my 1st blog entry published from train…

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You could have shown him OR described about plane in detail so that he can understand! Its good to read, the way you writting honestly about yourself in slippers πŸ™‚

    Pravin

    September 1, 2008 at 5:32 pm

  2. I have been reading Swapneel’s blogs for a very long time now. He has the ability to see things the way they are. Simple.
    This particular blog too. We all come across similar situations but do we ever think abt these simple interactions and conversations.
    The best part of the blog is: “Silly me!!! He was asking me about standing, and I answered him about sitting and sleeping… But I guess, he was good enough to understand my vague answer…]”
    What I liked was he realised how vague his answer was, which most us fail at.
    Swapneel, through his blog, has taught me to see life from a different perspective and when I tell him this he simply replies, “I am just living life and seeing life the way one should!”
    And I have failed to make him understand that most of us, including me, always get caught upin the worldly matters. πŸ™‚
    My fav blog so far is “Impressed“; if you haven’t read it, u are missing something… Honest!
    “impressed” highlights his interpretation skills.
    keep on going Swapneel……..

    Hitesha

    September 2, 2008 at 6:15 pm

  3. @Pravin: Yes, true… maybe I should have explained him better…

    @Hitesha: Thanks for all the priase… πŸ˜‰ I think you share equal credit for the echo that you gave to my thoughts… πŸ™‚

    Swapneel Shah

    September 2, 2008 at 6:43 pm


Leave a Reply

