Swapneel Shah

swapsshah in dreams!!!

Bangalore Pune on bike in a single day!!!

with 18 comments


17 x 1 = 17
17 x 2 = 34
17 x 3 = 51

17 x 10 = 170

Mind is alert! ๐Ÿ™‚

Move left toe, left shoulder, left hand fingers…
Move right toe, right shoulder, right hand fingers…
Neck…

Body doing ok! ๐Ÿ™‚

It was around 7 hours I had been riding continuesly… And it was going to be another 10-12 hours of continous drive to Pune… We both (me and my Suzuki GS 150R) were doing good… The additional overdrive 6th gear was helping me hover around 80kmpr at a comfortable 6000rpm… Morning time went by fresh, quick and yet comfortable… So far so good… I knew it was now that the real test starts!!!

It all started few months back, when Dad and Sanju dada drove the bike from Pune to Bangalore… They took turns to drive and took halts for breakfast and lunch and dinner… It was inspiring, very easy to declare that I will drive back the bike myself to Pune… If dad can do it, I too can!!!

Honestly,
It was instant fascination!
Easy to convince dad!
No point in telling mom!
A bit uneasy to say it to Anubhuti!
Bad idea to even inform fater-in-law!
and all the time ‘on the mind’ as now I was now married man; just a month back!

I had planned in detail for the ride. The 1st point was to take a good sound sleep and make an early start around 4 am… With 31st March being my last day at Goldman Sachs office, I was busy finishing last formalities and successfully got out of office at around 4… Returned back home to run to Airtel office to return the phone-modem, etc. And then booked a cab to drop Anubhuti and all the luggage to the Railway Station… While returning back, Bangalore’s traffic kicked in and it was already 9:45 to reach back to the flat… I had to vacate before leaving next day morning… The winding up took longer than expected and finally I lay on bed at Eslin’s room at 12:00!!!

Set the alarm for 3:45 and thought Will do it tomorrow if I can get up… otherwise will take good rest tomorrow and start day after… Alarm… snoozed… snoozed again… Got up… Sat in the bed for few minutes… And finally gave up!!! Got back to bed, thinking it will be tomorrow and not today… Don’t know how much time had passed and then suddenly got up… I have to join Pravin tomorrow to travel to Akola for Dhiraj’s engagement… Dhiraj will kill me if I miss it!!! It had to be today itself… Freshed up… Tied up the luggage on the bike… Woke up Eslin for a good bye… A hug, handshake… promised to see him at his wedding when he get’s married (which, unfortunately I could not not)…

And started at 5:15 am!!!ย Now there was no plan… Just drive and use backup halt’s at Hubli, Kolhapur, Satara in case I am not able to make it to Pune… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

5:15 am... Thank you Eslin for the early morning click...

5:15 am... Thank you Eslin for the early morning click...

……… Continued on page 2

Pages: 1 2 3

Written by Swapneel Shah

April 20, 2012 at 10:16 am

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nice Article Bro…. you must have enjoyed the drive…… don’t plan to do it again alone ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jankhana

    April 20, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    • Thanks Sis!
      I think it was a test of both!!! Physical and more of Mental strength… Doing it again is tempting but will have to think 10 times more as now am a father…

      Also, maybe I have grown old to attempt something like this again! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Swapneel Shah

      April 21, 2012 at 7:35 am

  2. sahi hai!

    Pravin

    April 24, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    • Nice to read it. It’s a brave experience I have got inspired.
      I have SuzukiGS150R -New bike. I am planning trip Bangalore to Pune. Please guide me on bike side that what are the precautions should be taken. what Maxx speed we drive. Is the bike feasible for such a long drive.

      Nitin Bhambere

      December 28, 2012 at 2:47 pm

      • Yes, the bike is very much for the long ride! The 6th Gear will really help in a smooth drive…

        When you ride this long, there is nothing like maxx speed… Drive comfortable and easy… I rode around 80 kmph consistently…

        If your bike just out of showroom, you want to finish 2 servicing’s before attempting a long ride like this one…

        Good luck! And enjoy the ride and do not take risks for adventure or fun… be safe!

        Swapneel Shah

        January 2, 2013 at 10:43 am

  3. Love this one โ€œTu sachme bike pe aaya kya??? TERA DIMAAG KHARAB HO GAYA HAI!!!โ€, ekdam standard. People just believe bike is for going office and coming back.

    BTW, I was searching for Bangalore – Pune Travelogues, stumbled upon this one. I am planning a ride to Pune soon, though not solo. Awesome write-up waise :).

    mechzombie

    February 4, 2013 at 8:49 am

  4. Hello…This is saurabh….I was thinking for Pune-Bangalore and again back to pune in 24 hrs….is it really possible??
    I think i can do it!!

    saurabh apte

    October 26, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    • A to-and-fro thing will be almost 900+900 = 1800 kms. You would need to cover average of 75kms per hour!!!

      Honestly, I don’t think this is doable.

      Swapneel Shah

      October 26, 2013 at 7:53 pm

      • Will you please guide me what kind of preparations and precautions I would required to take for one way i.e. Pune-Bangalore and also for again back to pune!
        Please also guide regarding difficulties you faced and difficulties may aries.

        saurabh apte

        October 28, 2013 at 9:55 am

      • I think your vehicle is the only real preparation required. The roads are a treat to drive.

        Rest I feel its more of your ability to keep your mind alert and body cope with the stress of driving for so long… And make sure that you have stoppages or exit points, if you feel you can’t go on… And don’t be adamant to do it at any cost… Life is more precious!!!

        Good Luck! and Drive safe…

        Swapneel Shah

        October 28, 2013 at 10:57 am

      • Hiee again….
        I just wanted to ask u that..have you informed someone before going for this ride??or you did this on your own?

        saurabh apte

        November 14, 2013 at 3:56 pm

      • Yes, definitely! Dad and couple of friends to start with. Also people en-route Davangere, Hubli, Kolhapur, Satara. Also keep talking to at least two people of where you are and by when they can expect next call from you…

        Just in case there is an emergency, you should have someone to help you!

        Swapneel Shah

        November 14, 2013 at 4:40 pm

      • Yes definately…
        Bt i thaught to prove yourself or to set this as a record….you had informed someone..

        saurabh apte

        November 14, 2013 at 10:51 pm

      • Dude! Getting into any record is a foolish thing to start with… Love the ride and enjoy it… That’s more important!!!

        Swapneel Shah

        November 15, 2013 at 6:40 am

  5. Sir,
    Your blog was very informative. I m also planning on a solo trip to pune from Bangalore. Do u have any tips for me?
    Thanks in advance.
    Awaiting reply.
    Regards,
    Soumya

    soumya

    November 27, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    • I think your vehicle is the only real preparation required. The roads are a treat to drive.

      Rest I feel its more of your ability to keep your mind alert and body cope with the stress of driving for so longโ€ฆ And make sure that you have stoppages or exit points, if you feel you canโ€™t go onโ€ฆ

      Also inform the people that can help you en-route… Also keep talking to at least two people of where you are and by when they can expect next call from youโ€ฆ

      Just in case there is an emergency, you should have someone to help you!

      And donโ€™t be adamant to do it at any costโ€ฆ Life is more precious!!!

      Good Luck! and Drive safeโ€ฆ

      Swapneel Shah

      November 28, 2014 at 6:33 am

  6. Awesome write up buddy! Inspiring one, I’m doing a ride next week to pune from blore on my duke 390, then to Mumbai the next day. Hope all goes well ๐Ÿ™‚

    Saajan Jogia

    February 6, 2015 at 8:00 pm

  7. humm…sahi ch…I have done this ( Pune to Bangalore to Pune ) in Jan 2001 with my bro on my Yamaha – Rx 135 !! …he vachun aata punha haat shivshivtayet .Planning to go again after 14 years..now ..on my new bike UNICORN 160 ! Yesss…i will do it again !! and ..ya..i am just 38 now !! …NIKHIL

    NIKHIL( PUNE)

    April 8, 2015 at 2:50 pm


Leave a comment